Author Topic: Shutdown via "End Task", now HippoEDIT won't recognize any keyboard commands  (Read 667 times)

Offline scunliffe

  • Registered User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I had a lot of files open and my computer was acting slow, almost not responding. Decided I needed to kill the app and start over.
Task Manager > HippoEDIT > End Task

However after restarting, HippoEDIT is refusing to recognize any keyboard shortcut commands. "CTRL+O"? --> "The key combination (CTRL + O) is not a command"

Not even Tab or Delete works.

Is there an option to "refresh" an install or run diagnostics... or delete some sort of cache?  I really don't want to have to re-install... it takes forever to reset all my defaults (full line numbering, context menu version control commands, etc.)

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2181
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • View Profile
    • HippoEDIT
Hello Stephen,

this is an old problem that I can not catch... I have tried the way with ending of HippoEDIT with End Task, but by me, after a restart, commands are still working. Have tried to do some modifications for shortcuts before, still works. With open Options dialog - it still works.

Can you please attach here file %TEMP\hekeymap.tmp - I assume it is corrupted. Maybe I can find out something from it... This a cache file used, for storing keyboard map between sessions - to not parse XML every time.

To correct the situation, close HippoEDIT, delete the hekeymap.tmp and start once more.

But I would appreciate very much if you recreate the state once more :) In a way I can recreate it and fix ;)

BR, Alex.

Offline scunliffe

  • Registered User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Thanks Alex,

I'm attaching that file to this reply (and then I will try your suggestion to clear it)

Update: I just deleted it, and yes my keyboard commands started working again, thanks so much!

Cheers,
Steve
« Last Edit: March 14, 2017, 04:47:03 pm by scunliffe »

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2181
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • View Profile
    • HippoEDIT
Hi Steve,

Hm. I was expecting that your file would not contain any keymap, but there are some. But the list of commands is less than in standard keymap (or at least size of the file: yours is 15K and mine is 24K).  Maybe something was initialized not completely and then persisted...

I am really interesting in getting it fixed!

Also, please update to newest HippoEDIT build.

BR, Alex.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
2951 Views
Last post February 15, 2009, 04:28:32 pm
by alex
6 Replies
5315 Views
Last post November 02, 2009, 11:12:18 pm
by alex
7 Replies
3627 Views
Last post May 11, 2010, 12:09:42 pm
by cichlasoma
4 Replies
1585 Views
Last post August 10, 2010, 06:04:46 pm
by alex
4 Replies
1803 Views
Last post June 24, 2015, 11:31:07 am
by alex