Author Topic: [SCRIPT]:Edit > Lines > Surround Lines by... (Insert in Front or at End of Line)  (Read 4397 times)

Offline Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
I find this feature to necessary to let the novice user discover this there self.
(and most customers check the menu first to see if an app suit there needs)


So i want to discus how about to add this feature as default menu item:
"Edit > Lines > Surround Lines by..."

should call an dialog like the pic below shows.

The code behind could be the same as with %SelectedLine%


- - -


Till this is implemented we can do this at our own:

------------------------------------------------------------
-  menu "Tools > Options > Syntax Settings..."
-  expand the node for wanted syntax and open "Code Templates" page
-  Click on [Add]

Insert this (or what YOU want):
Key* [ SurroundSelectedLINES ]
Description [ Surround Selected LINES ]
Shortcut [ Alt+M ]

As code insert:
%Insert this BEFORE each line%%SelectedLine%%Insert this AFTER each line%

- click Apply
- click OK
------------------------------------------------------------

Now
- select a few lines
- press Alt+M
- you will be prompte with "Insert this BEFORE each line"
- enter what you want to be inserted before each line
- click OK
- the same for BEHIND
Now you should see what happens ;-)

Note that you can also use something like %Insert this BEFORE each line%%SelectedLine% only.

Or use %SelectedText% to only insert something one time at start and end of the whole block / paragraph (or word, or sentence, or...

HTH?
Happy HippoEDITing :D

- - -

EDIT:


added an new screen shot how the implemented dialog could look. (see picture No. 3)

modified the subject because i had trouble to find this post.

added a few more screenshot how this is implemented with other editor:
(Hmmm: Restrictions: 5 per post, maximum total size 256KB, maximum individual size 192KB, OK, let's see)
OK, i have too many pics to add, so see one of the next post (click) for more screenshots.

.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2011, 10:03:53 pm by alex »
Stefan, HippoEDIT beta tester 
HippoEDIT - the editor programmers wants to code thyself when they are dreaming.        -Don't just edit. HippoEDIT!-

Offline JJK

  • Registered User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Edit > Lines > Surround Lines by...
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 12:55:03 pm »
Support+

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2183
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • View Profile
    • HippoEDIT
Re: Edit > Lines > Surround Lines by...
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2009, 04:18:57 pm »
:) There is no pic below :)
Dont remember, maybe I have disabled that because of the spammers...

But I would think. Dont know how it is important to put it to a menu... From efforts side this is rather easy.
But from another side I want to release next days. Because otherwise it would be nether ending story :)) I have already ordered submit of new version to file catalogs ;)

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2183
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • View Profile
    • HippoEDIT
Re: Edit > Lines > Surround Lines by...
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2009, 04:20:44 pm »
Just by the way.

I have started to mark "completed" topics with "Thumb Up" icon, then it is easy to see what is not yet done in the list of the Feature requests and suggestions.

Offline JJK

  • Registered User
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Edit > Lines > Surround Lines by...
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2009, 04:44:50 pm »
Quote
There is no pic below
Here I see it. Pic is displayed.

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2183
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • View Profile
    • HippoEDIT
Re: Edit > Lines > Surround Lines by...
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2009, 05:08:11 pm »
I have found a picture using admin panel. But for some reason as user alex coud not see it. Maybe some caching of pages...

Offline Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Just an update to add an new screen shot how the implemented dialog could look. (see picture No. 3 in first post)


And added a few more screenshot how this is implemented with other editor:
(Hmmm: Restrictions: 5 per post, maximum total size 256KB, maximum individual size 192KB, OK, let's see)

OK, i have too many pics to add, so i have added some to the original post and some to THIS post:


.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
2047 Views
Last post April 24, 2009, 03:50:23 pm
by alex
0 Replies
1453 Views
Last post September 27, 2009, 07:18:54 pm
by Stefan
0 Replies
1525 Views
Last post September 27, 2009, 07:52:59 pm
by Stefan
0 Replies
1252 Views
Last post March 17, 2011, 08:10:20 pm
by Stefan
1 Replies
2547 Views
Last post October 27, 2011, 02:16:23 am
by alex