Author Topic: AutoSave saves a file even though it is set to on "Application Deactivate"  (Read 1849 times)

Offline Arthur

  • Registered User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 653
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • He who is ashamed of asking is afraid of learning.
    • My Blog
AutoSave saves a file even though it is set to on "Application Deactivate".

Besides, if I have a crash the file does not get saved, and if I just close it HE prompts me to save the file, so when this "Application Deactivate" option supposed to trigger itself?

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2206
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • HippoEDIT
Hello Arthur,

I think I need more details...

Save on Application deactivate saves current document or all modified documents when you switch applications: for example from HippoEDIT window to Internet Explorer window.

Auto-Save every just saves all modified documents by timer. Can work together with Application deactivate (this options are not exclusive).

Both Auto-Save every and Application deactivate save document to same file (with same file name) and document loses modified flag.

In addition to described functionality, HippoEDIT saves auto recovery information every minute (configurable) in some temp file near original which contains document contents with its last modification. If HE crashes, it restores this last unsaved state and set document to modified. That is why it ask for save on close. There is also warning message shown in status bar informing about this.

So, once more:
what is wrong in your case?

Best regards,
Alex.

Offline Arthur

  • Registered User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 653
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • He who is ashamed of asking is afraid of learning.
    • My Blog
Ahh, that explains all, I see, this is a game of words, then probably the right wording should be "On Loosing Focus"?

PS: Perhaps you need to move this topic to questions, Alex.
Quote
In addition to described functionality, HippoEDIT saves auto recovery information every minute (configurable) in some temp file near original which contains document contents with its last modification. If HE crashes, it restores this last unsaved state and set document to modified. That is why it ask for save on close. There is also warning message shown in status bar informing about this.

Alex, this is neat, but the default interval seems to be too low for my productivity at least. I also have a suggestion here to make it based on the amount of characters typed and not time as it is now, what do you think?
« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 04:35:05 PM by Arthur »

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2206
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • HippoEDIT
Seems to me that this was aready discussed ;)

Application Deactivate comes from name used in some other editor.. Ok, maybe I need to rename it. Techically this is really not a loosing of focus (because then you can wait the action, when you remove focus from editor window, for example to file explorer), but complete hippoedit application deactivate. So this is a reason for name. Probably more understandable would be On Application focus lost...

Best regards,
Alex.