Author Topic: AutoSave On Application Deactivate  (Read 2356 times)

Offline Arthur

  • Registered User
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 653
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • He who is ashamed of asking is afraid of learning.
    • My Blog
AutoSave On Application Deactivate
« on: February 18, 2009, 10:07:56 PM »
I am wondering in AutoSave what the "On Application Deactivate" feature means?

Offline Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: AutoSave On Application Deactivate
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 10:50:05 PM »
Click the cursor on "On Application Deactivate" and press F1 :D to get an short description.
'Deactivated' means here 'if the editor lose focus', i.e. if you let HippoEDIT
to use f.ex. your browser, then all modified docs will be auto saved..

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2222
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • HippoEDIT
Re: AutoSave On Application Deactivate
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 11:48:00 PM »
Cool :) This is one of the options that has assigned context help  :D
I need to add this to all options, but because of time, this is still missing for a lot of them :/

Thanks Stefan, only want to add a little bit:
Because maybe you dont want to save all documents on deactivate, it is possible to apply this function only to some documents.
To do this you need to check AutoSave option in main menu File. Then only this file (saved document specific also between sessions) would be saved on deactivate. This is if you have a global AutoSave on deactivate switched OFF. But if you have global setting swtiched ON, then this document specific flag works vise versa, and can disable the AutoSave for this specific file.
Also, take into account, that once changed this document specific flag, it would be never overwritten by global one.