Author Topic: Click to gain focus should also place caret  (Read 1539 times)

Offline msmelo

  • Registered User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Click to gain focus should also place caret
« on: October 06, 2016, 11:51:37 AM »
Hi,

I have noticed a big annoyance in HE: if HE doesn't currently have the focus AND you click somewhere in the text editor window, the only thing that happens is that HE gets the focus - the caret doesn't ALSO move to where you clicked.

This has made me type into the wrong place multiple times. This seems to be a behaviour exclusive to HE... don't remember any other editor ever doing this.

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2190
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • HippoEDIT
Re: Click to gain focus should also place caret
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2016, 03:15:50 PM »
It is not a bug, but a feature was requested some when.
Here are details and way to control it:
http://wiki.hippoedit.com/options/xml/ignore-first-click

Offline msmelo

  • Registered User
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Click to gain focus should also place caret
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2016, 11:48:17 PM »
Many thanks - I've changed the setting so it does what I want.  :)

Still, I must say that I have never seen an editor that DOESN'T move the caret, so I fail to see how anyone would expect this behaviour in the first place :P

Offline alex

  • Developer
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2190
  • Karma: +37/-3
    • HippoEDIT
Re: Click to gain focus should also place caret
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2016, 12:19:56 AM »
Look at Microsoft Word ;)